Awards at Celebration of Clay Shows

Traditionally, the NMPCA Celebration of Clay is not a juried show to enter. Each member selects the piece(s) that they feel represent their best work. A jury is formed for each show to select awards.  

Celebration of Clay 2020: Persectives

2019 Celebration of Clay:  Many Hands, Many Ways

2018 Celebration of Clay

selected by Gallery owners of the 4 galleries hosting the 2018 show

2017 awards selected by jurors Kathy Cyman, Djann Hoffman, and Debra Fritts      See all works in 2017 show with more information.

2016 awards selected by juror Andrew Connors, Curator of Art, Albuquerque Museum.

2015 awards

Best of Show:  Meili Milonni, “Yesterday and Today”, A new form for an ancient poem.

 Beauty – Quality – Functionality award, Sponsored by the Porcelain Vessels course at UNM:  Betsy Williams, “The Things We Use”, I am exploring ways to re-use various packaging materials in interesting and compelling ways.

 Award of Merit:  Kari Rives, “Jasper”, Rage against the unseen and unfair.

 Award of Merit:  Mario Quilles, “Oceana Grouping”, Did you hear what she said?

 Award of Merit:  Judy Nelson-Moore and Cricket Appel, “Touchstone”, I’ve got an idea, what do you think?

2014 awards selected by juror Betsy Williams.

Below are the 2013 juror awards and People’s Choice award. For the 2013 show, Intimate Visions, the juror was Frank Willett. Frank is a special treasure to the NMPCA: He was one of the founding members of our organization, and through his work and his studio and community participation, he has been a mentor and inspiration to potters. In 2013, Frank was an honored recipient of a Governor’s Award for Excellence in the Arts.